Illustration inspired by the works of Andy Warhol and Roy Lichtenstein.

Andy Warhol

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-12-37-41           screen-shot-2016-11-09-at-13-15-27

On the left is an example of one of Andy Warhol’s work and on the right is an illustration that I have done inspired by his work. In my illustration I was trying to copy the lines and colours that the artist has used. The artist used continues lines for his fruits and so I have done the same for my, also the artist used block colours for the background and fruits, which is what I have also done. I don’t think that I have successfully done this because the artist has use continuous lines and my drawing doe not look like I have used continuous lines. To improve the drawing I could made the lines look more like are continuous I could also  use dots for the shading of the work like what the artist has done because it will make it look more realistic. I could use the style to appeal to adults because the techniques that the artist has used makes it look very classy and is something that would attract an adult more than a child.

Roy Lichtenstein

 

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-12-37-53       screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-12-35-44

On the left is one of Roy Lichtenstein’s work and on the right is an illustration that I have done inspired by his style. In my work I was trying to copy the colours in the artist’s work. In the work the artist has used bright, block colours for the fruits and so I have done the same with mine by using bright colours, they have also used black and white strips in the background to make the colours standout even more and so I have also used black and white strips. I think that I have successful copied this because I have used black and white stripes in the background, like the artist, I have also used block colours for the fruits and I have used white to show the highlights of the fruits as well, like the artist. To improve this recording I would make the outlines for the fruits thinker, like Lichtenstein has done, I would also add in some more highlights to the fruits. I would say that this recording appeals more to adults because a lot of black and white have been used for the background, which gives the work a adult feel to it.

Andy Warhol and Roy Lichtenstein

in-the-style-2

Here is a recording that I have done using the styles from Warhol and Lichtenstein. For this work I have used  continuous lines for the fruits, like in Warhol’s work, Warhol also left some colour outside of the lines, which I have also done for both the fruits and bowl. I have also used block colours for the fruits and background and I have left the bowl white and used lines to show the shading of the bowl, like Lichtenstein had done for his work. I think that I have successfully copied both artists’ style because the lines look like they are continuous and the lines on the bowl show the shading. To improve this drawing I would make the outlines for the fruits a lot neater and more round so that it looks a lot more professional. I think that this drawing appeals to both adults and children because there are a lot of bright colours that would attract a child’s attention, however the white bowl with the lines for shading give the drawing a classy feel.

 

Leave a Reply

