Illustrations in the style of Sarah Beetson and Caroline Church

 

Sarah Beetson

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-12-45-52screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-13-16-32

On the left is an example of one of Sarah Beetson’s work and on the right is an illustration that I have done inspired by her style. In this work I was planning on copying the colours and white-space used. In the work the artist has used bright colours and so i have done the same with my work, using bright green and red for the watermelon, she has also used the technique of  white space by having a lot of space between the fruits, which I have also done in my work. I think that I have successful copied the artist’s style because I have used white space in my work  and I have also used bright colours like red and green.  I think that my work could be improved if I put more images in it to give people more to look at and to make the illustration look more interesting and exciting. I think that my recording would appeal to children because the images look kind of cartoon like and kids love cartoons and there are a lot of bright colours, which would also attract children’s attention.

 

Caroline Church

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-12-46-04screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-12-44-21

On the left is an example of one of Caroline Church’s work and on the right is an illustration that I have done. In my work I was trying to copy the lines and texture that the artist has used in her work. The artist has used lines on the peeled orange and on the orange leaves to give it texture and shading, I have used this technique on the raspberry by using lines to show the darker areas and to give in texture, the artist has also used dots on the orange to the right to again show shading and texture, which is what I have done to my strawberry. I think that I have successfully copied the artist’s style because I have used lines and dots to show shading on my fruits. To improve this work I would make the dots on the strawberry darker because it is hard to see the dots.I think that this recording would appeal to adults more because there is no colour in the recording and so children will not find it interesting.

Sarah Beetson and Caroline Church

in-style-3

For this recording I was inspired by both Beetson and Church’s works. For this work I have used bright yellow for the banana, like Beetson used bright colours in her work, I have also used a thin outline for the fruit and I have used dots to show the shaded part of the banana, like Church has done for her work. I don’t think that I have successfully copied both of the artist’s style because the dots don’t look like shading. To improve the work I would add some more dots in so that it looks more like shading and makes the banana look more realistic. I think that this recording would appeal more to adults than children because, there is not a lot of colours and kids love colourful things, also there is not a lot going on in the drawing and so it would not seem interesting to them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

