Rough Logo Designs

Rough Logo Design 1

punting-on-the-cam.jpg

For this design I uploaded an image of a man punting.

Screen Shot 2017-01-19 at 15.55.18.png

I then turned down the opacity, and draw over the image, to get the outline of the boat.

Screen Shot 2017-01-19 at 15.56.37.png

I then placed the word “Visit” on top of the boat.

Screen Shot 2017-01-19 at 16.07.04.png

I then got rid of the picture behind so that only the man is shown.

Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 12.45.15.png

For my first rough logo design I combined words and images by placing the words onto of the punting boats, I did this so that it looks like the words are part of the boats. For this design I used subtle colours for the words and the boats, this is because the target audience that I am aiming at are aged 30 and older and so subtle colours would appeal more to older audiences because it is not too in your face and it is easier on the eyes. Also subtle colours don’t standout that much and so will not that away the attention from the posters, which is what people are meant to be focus on. Also mad the boats that the words are on top of the same colour because it makes it look like the words and boats are part of the same thing. I used this typography because I did not want a type face that was to fancy because it may of had made it hard to read and this logo will be quite small and so I had to use a typeface that people can see clearly.

The message that I was trying to convey through this design is that Cambridge is calm and relaxing, this is shown my the imagery which shows punting boats on a river, this makes people think that Cambridge is calm and relaxing because punting on a river is also clam and relaxing. This would also appeal to my target audience because they are 30+ and so would not want to do anything that requires to much energy and would just want a relaxing day out.

This idea can be linked to my research because one of the designers that I analysed Peter Tarka, combined words and images by making the words look like they are part of the scoreboard and I have done the same by making the words look like they are part of the boats. I could make words and images link further by making the images form some of the letters in the words.

The successful part about the way that this idea combines words and images is that, the way in which the words and images are the same colour makes it look like the words are part of the images. What is less successful about this design is that the way in which the words have been combined is not that interesting because I have only placed the words on top of the boats, I could make the words and images more exciting and interesting by combing the words further, by making the images form some of the letters in the words.

This idea works for the target market that I am aiming for because the design is aimed at people aged 30 and older because the colours that I have used are subtle colours, which means that they are not too in your face and are easy on the eyes. I have also used images that makes the audience think that Cambridge is calm and relaxing and older people would prefer to have a relaxing day. The font that I used can also appeal to the target market because I used a font that is easy to read and older viewers might have trouble with their eye sight and so this will make it easier for them to read the logo.

I would say that this idea meets part of the brief because it is targeted at people aged 35 and older and it combines words and images together however the typography element in this design is not that strong. I could improve this by using a font that is both fancy yet is easy to read from far way.

Rough Logo Design 2

cambridge-kings-river-view-75491074.jpgScreen Shot 2017-01-23 at 13.13.49.png

For my second logo design I combined words and images by placing the words on top and under the bridge, I did this so that it looks like the words are ontop of the bridge and makes you think that the words are interacting with the bridge.

For this design I used the colour grey because it is a subtle colour and older viewers would prefer subtle colours because it is easier on the eyes also it would not take all the attention away from the posters. I also used black for the shadow of the letters so that it makes people think that the words are physical objects that can cast shadows, this also means that the letters are forming images. Used this typography because it is easy to read and even if you were far away you would still be able to read it, if it was a more fancy font then it may be hard to read. I used the image of the bridge because Cambridge is well known for punting and in order to go punting there needs to be a river and all rivers have bridges for people to get across and so when people see the bridge they will be thinking of going punting. Also this bridge is well known and is the oldest bridge in Cambridge made in 1640 and is one of two bridges that survived the Parliamentarian forces in the Civil War and so this bridge is also a historical artifact and a place in which people can visit when they come to Cambridge.

My idea links to my research because one of the designers that I analysed was Eiko Ojala. He combined words and images by placing words in font and behind the image to make it look like the words are psychical objects that can be affected by the image and I have also made my words appeal as physical objects by making them cast shadows, which shows that they are physical objects that can be affected by light. I could make this design link further to the designer’s work by making a river flow around the words because a river also flows around the words in Ojala’s design, this would also further combined the words and images .

The successful part about this design is that words look like they are objects because they can cast shadows, which makes them look more interesting then words that have just been placed on top of the design. The less successful part about the way in which the words and images have been combined is that the word visit has been placed on top to make it look like it is on top of the bridge however this is not very interesting or exciting, I could make this look more exciting by making the word visit cast a shadow that forms the bridge, that way it makes the design look more interesting and further combines the words and images.

This design appeals to the target market because I used subtle colours like grey which is easier on the eyes and would be easier for older viewers to look at it, I also used fonts that is easy to read because 35 and older audience may have bad eye sight and so this would be easier for them to read. Also the bridge that I draw is of historical interest and the audience that I am aiming the logo at are 35 – 60 year olds who are interested in a historical day out and so they will be interested in going to this bridge. I could improve this design further by adding in more subtle colours so that it looks a little bit more exciting.

This idea meets the brief because it appeals to people aged 35 and older and it combines words and images together however I think that it could be further combined and I could use a stronger typography element within it.

Rough Logo Design 3

market_stall_bakewellelite_greenwhite_side_2.jpg
Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 13.32.40.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-23 at 13.38.00.png49f66fde887a46d39463a465b47a91d3.jpgscreen-shot-2017-02-01-at-11-50-26Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 13.51.12.pngscreen-shot-2017-02-01-at-11-51-50

For this design I have placed words inside of the market stalls, I have done this so that it looks like the words have been placed on top of the stalls, which makes it look like the words and images are interacting with each other.

For this design I used 2 different shades of grey, a light grey and a dark grey. I used these two colours because they are subtle colours and so it will be easier on the eyes of older viewers and so that it does not take away the attention of the main posters, I have also made the words a different colour to the stalls so that you can tell that words are in front and behind of the stall to make it look like they are actually on the stall. Like for the word visit, you can see that the bar on the left is in front of the word and the bar on the right is behind the word, which makes it look like the word is actually on the stall. I have also scaled the words to be smaller than the stalls so that they can fit inside of it. I used the image of a market stall because it reperests the Cambridge Market which has been going since the middle ages and so this makes the market a historical site and the target market that I am trying to appeal to are 35 and older and who are interesting in historical days out and so this imagery would really appeal to them.

This idea links with the work of the artist Eiko Ojala from my research because in their work they combined words and images by placing the words behind and in front of the image to make it look like the image is affeating the words and in this design I have shown that the image is affecting the words by placing the words behind the metal bar of the stall. I could make this idea link clearer to the artist’s work, by showing the images affact the words more by showing the word “Cambridge” also be behind the metal bars of the stall, so that it looks like the words are actrully on the stall.

What I would say is suceesful about the way in which I cambined words and images, would be the fact that the words actully look like they are on the stall however I would say that the unsusseful part about the way in which I combined words and images would be that it does look that interesting because the words and images have not be combined in an exciting and uniquc way, I have only placed the words behind the images. I could make the words and images combine in a more exciting way by making each letter look like objects that you would sold on a stall, like for each letter I could show a differernt box of fuits or clothing that you would sell on a stall.

This idea works for the target market because the imagery is of hostorical intestest which would appeal to people 35 and older and I have used subtle colours to appeal to the target market as well as fonts that makes it easy for ealderly people to read.

This idea also meets the brife because it is targeted at people aged 35 and older and who are intested in hostorical days out and it combines words and images together.

 

 

Leave a Reply

