Rough Poster Idea 1

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-25 at 13.15.59.png
Screen Shot 2017-01-25 at 12.33.57.png
Screen Shot 2017-01-25 at 13.15.17.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-25 at 13.15.25.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-01 at 12.13.18.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-01 at 12.24.51.png

 

This this design I have drawn the Fitzwilliam museum and for each pillar of the museum, I have replaced with a letter that spell out Visit. This combines words and images together because the letters form part of the image.

For this design I have left it mostly white and have used a black outline, I have done this so that the black stands out from the white and the words are more noticeable. I have also used a subtle peach colour for the background and the web address this is because it is a subtle and so is not that noticeable and so does that take away the attention from the images and words. I have also used font that is clear and easy to read because I am aiming the poster at 35 and older and some of them may have bad eye sight and so they might find it hard to read the words and so making it bigger would make it easier on them.

This idea links to the artist  Abram Games in my research because in his work he used building to form letters that spell out words and in this idea I have used part of the building, the pillars and made them form letters that spell out “Visit”. I could make this like further to the artist’s work by making the whole pillar into letters instead of a pillar with a letter that has been carved out of it.

What I would say that the successful part about the way I have combined the words and images in this design is the fact that I made the pillars look like letters, this is because it makes the words look more interesting because they are part of the imagery. What I would say is less successful about the design is the fact that the word Cambridge has just been placed on to the design. To improve this design I would done something more with the word “Cambridge” by placing each letter on a pillar, I would also add in some more colours because it kinds of looks boring and not that interesting and so adding in another colour would make it more exciting.

This design work for my target audience because in the design it shows the Fitzwilliam museum and the people that I am targeting the poster at are aged 35 and older and who like historical days out and so a day out visiting the Fitzwilliam museum would appeal to them, I have also used font that is easy to read.

This design also meets the brief because it appeals to my target market 35 and older and it combines words and images together which is shown with the letters in the pillar.

Leave a Reply

