Rough Poster idea 2

 

images.jpeg

Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 15.13.59.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 15.32.36.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 15.50.51.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 15.51.50.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 16.03.59.png

screen-shot-2017-01-26-at-16-03-59-copy

 

 

For this design I have drawn a image of a person punting, with names of the places that people can visit on top of the boat. This combines words and image because it looks like the words form the boat.

For this design I used a subtle colour of green for the background, this is so that the background does not take away the attention from the words and images. I have also used the colour white for the boat, I have done this because the white stands out from the green background and so makes the images more notable. I have also used different subtle colours for the words, this is so that not all the words look the same and makes each word look interesting, I have made them look further interesting by using different font. In the design I have made the words visit and Cambridge bigger this is so that it is easier to see them and separate them from the other words and to also show that these two words are more important than the others. I used the image of a person punting because I am trying to make the poster appeal to people aged 35 and older and punting makes you think of relaxing things and so the viewer looking at this poster would think that Cambridge is calm and relaxing, which would appeal to older people because they want to be in a place where they can relax.

This design links to the artist Oscar Wilson from my research because within his work he used words to form images, like the London Bridge and I have done the same in my idea by using words that people would associate with Cambridge to form the punting boat. I could make this link further to the research by shaping and bending the words so that they fill up every space of the boat, like Wilson did in his work.

What I would say is successful about this design is the fact that words form the shape of the boat however what I would say is unsuccessful about this design is the fact that words don’t take up all of the space of the boat and if you were to that away the image and were left with the words you would not be able to tell what the words are meant to show, also the words are really small and it is hard to tell what they are meant to say. To improve this design I would make the words bigger and shape the words so that they fill up all of the space within the boat so that if you take the words away, who can still tell what the words are meant to show.

This idea does work for my target market because it uses subtle colours that is easy on the eyes and the imagery that I used is something that would appeal to them, because the image is meant to symbolize relaxing and older people would prefer relaxing than other stuff that would require a lot of enemy. However the words that I used are too small and elderly people would not have very good eye sight and so would find it hard to see what the words say. If I was to take this idea forward I would make the words bigger so that people can see it.

This design currently meets the brief because It combines words and images together and it has a strong typography element to it and it is aimed at the target audience 35 and older.

Leave a Reply

