Refining rough logo design

Refined idea 1

 

screen-shot-2017-01-30-at-13-26-43

For this refinement I decided to combine the words and images further, by making the imagery form parts of the letters of the words. For example the pole in the hands of the person on the left forms part of the letter “V” and the pole in the hands of the person on the right forms part of the letter “B”.

For this design I placed the punting boats at an angle, this helps combine the words and images because having the images at an angle makes it easier to make the poles form parts of the letters. If the boats were not at an angle then the poles would not look like they are part of the letter.

This idea links to my research because one of the artists that I looked at was Luke Lucas and within his work, he used images to form words, for example he used the ice cream to form the words “Summa Dayze” and I have done the same in my by making the poles form parts of the letters. I could make a further the link between my work and the artist’s by giving the words some texture, like what the artist did by making it look like the words look wet like melting ice cream and I could do the same by giving the words a wooden texture.

The successful part about this design is that the way in which the words and images have been combined makes the design look more interesting, also the poles actually look like they are part of the letters, which is what I was aiming for.

The unsuccessful part I find about this refinement is the fact that in order to make the poles help form the letters, I had to change the arrangement of the boats by making them slanted, this makes it look like the boats are not on the water and it makes the logo look messy and it is a bit disorientating when you look at it.

To improve this I would try to rearrange the words and images in a less disorientating way, I would also refine the images some more because parts of the image look like they they have not been drawn properly, like the poles. I would also have to make the words small because the bottom of the letter “G” is sticking out at the bottom of the boat, which takes away the idea that the words are on the boat.

I believe that this idea does work for the target audience because it shows calm imagery that would appeal to them and although the poles form part of the letters, you can still read what they say, which is good because people over 35 would find it hard to read some things from far away.

I also believe that this design meets the brief, this is because the design combines words and images together, which is one of the requests from the brief, another requests was that it appeals to the target market and I able trying to appeal to 35 and older and I have done this by making the words easy to read because older people would not have very good eye sight.

Refined idea 2

screen-shot-2017-01-30-at-13-31-18

For this design I decided to combine the words and images further by adding in the image of a bridge behind the punting boats. I did this because the word “Cambridge” has the word “bridge” in it and so it makes you think of a bridge. Also the bridge that I used is famous in Cambridge and is of historical interest and so when people think about visit they would think about visiting this bridge.

The message that I was trying to convey through this design is that there are historical places in Cambridge that people can visit because the bridge is historical and so this will give people the idea that there are places in which I can visit that is of historical interest.

I think that the most successful about this design is that it fills up most of the space because before the design looked kind of bear, also this helps appeal more to the target audience because the bridge that I have placed is of historical interest and the audience of which I am aiming the poster at are people who are interested in historical days out and so they would be tempted to visit this bridge, although there is one thing that I find unsuccessful about this design and that is that it does not do a lot to help further combine words and images together, all I have done is place the image of a bridge in the background.

I could improve this design more by placing words on the bridge and by making it look like the words have been carved out of the bridge to make it look more interesting and it would also help combine words and images together.

This design appeals to the target audience because the design is meant to appeal to people like going on historical days out and the image of the bridge helps appeal to their interests.

This design  does not meet the brief because it appeals to the target market however it does not further combine words and images together, which is one of the requirements of the brief and so part of the brief is not meant.

Refined idea 3

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-11-32-17

For this design all I did was rearrange the words and images and made some parts of the words and images bigger. For example I changed the location of the word “visit” and placed it above the word “Cambridge”. I then rearranged the images so that the people punting form an “I” within both the words.

The artist has has helped me come up with the idea of this refinement is the artists Jordan Metcalf, who used images to form letters, for example he mad the monsters within his design to form a letter and I have done the same within my design by making the people punting form an “I” for both of the words.

This would appeal to to the target audience because the imagery looks simple and the words are easy to read and I am trying to appeal to people aged 35 and older and they would prefer to have something that they can easily read and does not look complicated.

The successful about about this design is that the words and images are further combined because the people form part of the letters this makes the design look more interesting and exciting, also the way in which the words and images have been laid out makes it easy to read and so people who are in a rush can still read it without having to stop and think about what it says. Also I gave been the word “Cambridge” bigger than the word “Visit”, I have done this to show the importance of the word, it will also be the first word that people see because it is the biggest and I want people to see this word because the whole design is about Cambridge.

The unsuccessful about this design is the fact that in the original design the words look like they were on the boat however because of the way in which I have laid the words and images out, they no longer look like they are on the boat. The boats also need a bit of refining because if you look closely you can see that part of the surface of the boat is missing.

To further develop this idea I would refine the top of the boat so that it does not look like part of it is missing, part from this I can not think of any more ways I can improve this design.

Leave a Reply

