Refined Poster Ideas

Refined poster idea 1

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 16.04.49.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 15.40.03.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 15.35.17.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-06 at 12.51.55.png

For my first refined poster design, I further combined the words and images together by making the letters form the whole pillars instead of just a bit of the pillar like in the original design, I have done this because the letters form part of the images by looking like pillars.

Within this design I have used the scale of the letters to help combine the words and images together by making the the letters really big so that they look like their are the pillars of the building. This also makes it easier for people to read from far away.

This idea links to my research because one of the artists that I looked at was Abram Games and within his work he used building to form letters and for my design I have done the opposite and used letters to form part of the building. The artist also used famous building that you would associate with London and places that people would like to visit and I have also used a famous building in Cambridge for this design and .

The successful part about this design is the fact that it makes it easier to read the letters from far away, also having the words this big makes it feel like the poster is shouting out at you, telling you to visit the museum.

The unsuccessful part about this design is that fact that because I have made the letters really big it makes it hard to fit the word “Cambridge” within the design and the word “Cambridge” is the most important part, it also makes it seem like the poster is over crowed and that there is to much going on.

I could make the design more interesting my adding in some colour to the letters so that they standout from the rest of the poster and become the focus point, this would also attract more people’s attention, however I would use a subtle colour so that it still appeals to the target market.

I think that this design does appeal to the target audience because the people that I am trying to target at are 35 and older and older people has trouble with their eye sight and so using the letters really big would make it easier for them to read.

I think that this design does not meet all of the brief because although I have used images that would appeal to the target audience and words that is easy to read however because I have made the word “visit” to big I can not fit in the tag line or the word “Cambridge” which is one of the requirements of the brief.

refined poster idea 2

refined-poster-idea-2

For this refinement I have combined words and images by placing the names of different places you can visit in the background with the museum infront of them, I have done this because it makes it seem like the words and images are affecting each other because the museum is covering up so of the words.

The message that I was trying to show was that there are lots of different places that you can visit in Cambridge. I showed this by placing the names a places that they could visit in the background and so if they like the name of a places they could visit.

This design links to my research because one of the artists that I looked at and that helped me come up with this idea is the artist Eiko Ojala, who in his work placed words behind and infront of the image to make it seem like the words are psychical  objects that can be affected by the image and within my own work I have placed the words behind the building to give the same perspective. I could further link this design to the artist’s work by adding texture to the design like how the artist added paper texture to his.

The successful part about this idea is that it makes the design look more interesting because the words are the only part that is coloured and so they stand out from the white and catches people’s attention.

The unsuccessful part about this design is that because the words are placed behind the museum parts of the words are cut off and so people can not read what some of the words are meant to say and so some people will not visit some of the places because they can not see what it says.

To improve this design I would make the words smaller so that I could add in more names of places that people can visit, I would also make it more interesting by making the colours I used for the text a bit more darker so that they standout more from the white background and so that it is easier to read what the words say.

I believe that this design appeals to the target market because I have used fonts that are easy to read, also I used fancy fonts that would appeal to older people because it gives the design a classy feel and older people prefer classy things and I used subtle coloures which also appeals to the target market because people over 35 prefer colours that are easy on the eyes. I could make this appeal more to the target audience by adding in more names of historical places that they may be interested in visiting.

I believe that this design meets the brief most of the brief, this is because the design appeals to the target market and the words and images have been combined, the only problem is that I don’t have much room for a tagline and if I was to add in a tagline then it might make the design look to wordy and some people might be turned off my the words. I overcome this I will add in a tagline in small writing so that it does not appear to wordy.

Refined poster idea 3

refined-poster-idea-3

For this refined poster design I have combined words and images together by placing the words “visit Cambridge” inside the top part of the building. I have been this because it makes it look like the words are part of the building.

This links to my research because one of the artists that I looked at Oscar Wilson, used words to form objects, he did this by shaping the words so that they fit to look like the London Bridge, this helped me come up with the idea of placing the words inside the top part of the building and just like Wilson, I reshaped them so that they will fit. I could further link this to the artist by using more words and different colours so that it makes the design stand out more.

The successful part about this design is that you can read what the words say clearly and because the words are written very big, you can see what they say from far away. Also the words are the only part that show any colour and so they stand out from the white, making it the focus point of the design.

The unsuccessful part about this design is that the way in which the words have been placed don’t look that interesting and the font that I have used isn’t very interesting as well, I think that it would look better if I added in a more fancy font was that it standout some more and is more exciting to look at.

To improve this design and make it more interesting I could make it look like the words are engraved into the building, so that it seems like the words are part of the images. Also I have noticed that some of the letters are out of the outline, if I was to further develop the design I would make sure that the words are inside the outline, I would also add in something different then “Visit Cambridge” because the poster already has the words visit Cambridge and so I would place in a tagline instead.

This appeals to the target market because the people that I am trying to aim at are people over 35 and may have trouble reading some words if they are really small and so having the words this big makes it easier for them to read that it says.

This meets the brief because the colour that I have used as well as the font appeals to the target market, also the design combines words and images to together by making it look like the words are part of the building. The one problem with the design is that there is no room for a tagline because most of the space has been taken up by the words and images.

 

Leave a Reply

