Final Evaluation

When I first got the brief I was unsure of how I was going to make my designs appeal to the target market and I didn’t have any ideas about how I was going to combine words and images together in an exciting way and so to help me come up with ideas I researched the works of other artists, so that their works can influence by ideas. After I researched artists’ work, I started drawing thumbnails of my ideas, then I started drawing rough ideas on the computer based off of the thumbnails. I then chose a rough logo idea and a rough poster idea to take forward and refine, after I came up with 3 refined logos and 3 refined poster designs, I took those designs forward to form my final logo and poster.

I found the research to be the most interesting part about the project, this is because it allowed me to look at the works of other designer and i found the way in which words and images have been combined within their work to be very exciting. From my research I have found that there are a number of way in which words and images can be combined, for example some artists used either words or images to form the other, like the artist Oscar Wilson, who used words to form the London Bridge. I have a noticed that words and images can also be combined by making the words appear as objects by giving them texture, like the artist Jordan Metcalf, who gave his words fur so that they appear as monsters. The artists that influenced me the most for my designs, was the artist Eiko Ojala, who gave me the idea of placing words behind the object, the artist Oscar Wilson, who gave me the idea of using words to form objects and the artist Abram Games, who gave me the idea of using building to form letters, I chose this particular artist to help with my design because I thought that it would be practical  because he uses buildings in his work and there are many building in Cambridge that would be good tourist sites, from this artist I came up with the idea of using part of the building to form letters.

I believe that I have come up with a range of different ideas that combine words and images for this project, some of the ideas that I came up with is to use images to form words and letters, like in my final poster I used the pillars of the museum to form the letters that spell out visit and in one of my rough ideas for my poster, I used words to form the image of a person on a punting boat and in my rough logo design I made the words look like they are objects by placing them on the boats, to appear as if they are part of the boat.

From looking at all the ways in which I have combined words and images throughout the project, I would say that the most successful was the way in which I combined ways and images in my final poster by making the pillars form letters. I believe this to be the most successful because it looks more interesting than all the other ways in which I combined words and images, also the way in which I combined them makes it clear and easy to read from far away. I would say that the most unsuccessful way in which I combined words and images would have to be in my 2nd rough poster design were I tried using words to form images, this is because I found it hard to make the words form the shape of the punting boat and I found it hard to fit the words inside of the pole used for punting, because it was it thin and the words were too small so you could not see them and it would be hard to read what they say.

The rough logo idea that I chose to take forward was my first idea, where I drew the punting boats, one with the word visit on it and another with the word Cambridge. I chose this idea over the other ideas because it me the design looked a lot more professional and it was simple, yet entertaining to look at, also I believe that the images and fonts that I used would appeal more to my target audience then the other designs. I refined this idea more by thinking about different ways in which I can further combine words and images. The refined drawing that I chose to take forward was my last refined drawing, where I used the two men to form “I” within the words, this made the design easier to look at and it looked better and more exciting then the other refined drawings.

The rough poster drawing that I chose to take forward was my first rough drawing, where it showed the pillar of the building form the letters which spell out the word “Visit”. I chose this drawing because I found that the way in which I combined words and images was more interesting than how I combined words and images within my other designs, the way in which I combined them was also simple and easy to read. I refined the design more by thinking of other ways in which I can incorporate words within the design, the refine drawings that I chose to take forward the 2nd and 3rd drawings which I incorporated both in the final design, because both ideas were interesting.

I believe that my final logo is exciting in terms of words and images combined because I have combined them in a unique way and although it is simplistic, it is also interesting to look at. I also believe that my logo fully exploits the use of words and images because I used images to form letters of the words.

I also believe that my final poster is exciting in terms of words and images combined because I have combined words and images in a number of ways within the design, for example I used part of the imagery form the words, by having each pillar form a letter and I also placed words in the background behind the building and I believe that my final poster fully exploits the use of words and images because I have combined them in many different ways.

I can’t think of any ways in which I can further combine words and images within my logo design or ways in which I can improve it. I believe that the design looks fine the way it is because it looks simplistic, which is what I want for a logo, if I were to continue combining words and images it might make the design look to complicated. However if I could improve the words and images combined within my poster design I think that I would add some texture to some of the words so that the words also appear as objects, which would further combine words and images, it would also make the design look more interesting.

From doing this project I have learnt that I should look at the works of other artists and use that to help influence by own ideas, I have also learnt that I should use different techniques to help influence my ideas and come up with different ways in which, I can make my design appeal to the target market and so in my future works, I will be taking the target market inconsideration when creating my ideas and thinking about ways in which I can make it appeal to them.

 

Leave a Reply

