Final Poster Resubmission

 

This is what the original rough poster design looked like.

final-poster-idea

This is what my piece looked like before the resubmission.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.17.20.png

I thought that the rough design needed more colour and so I placed the original image of the Fitzwilliam museum into illustrator, I then clicked on image trace, then 3 colours and I was given the same image back but in 3 colours only. I chose to have only 3 colours because if it was to colourful then, it would not appeal as much to the target market. I also made sure that the colours would appeal to the target market as well, by choosing subtle colours that are not too in you face.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.17.30.png

The next thing that I did was carve the letters that spell out “visit” in the colums, like what I did in the original. To do this I placed the outline onto of the 3 colour image, then created a new layer and used the paint tool to paint in the letters, at the same time I used the outline to help guild me so that  know what the letters should look like.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.17.54.png

The next thing that I did was add in names of places that people can visit in the background, like what I did in my refined poster idea 2. However this time I made the text smaller, so that I can add in more names of places, I also changed the font, to a Script typefaces, this is because it looks like hand writing and gives the design more of a classy feel, which would appeal to the target market because they are aged 35 and older and so they would prefer classy looking places to visit. This also lets them know of the other places they can go to in Cambridge. The text in the background also makes the background look less bare and makes the image stand out more. I also changed the colour of that it fits will the colour palette of the poster.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.18.37.png

I needed a place to add in the tagline and so I used the same idea for my refined poster idea 3 and painted over the top part of the museum, so that it looks like a flat surface. I then placed the tagline ” Relaxing day out?” in the space that I painted over, in I light brown so that it stands out from the darker brown. I also used a script typeface for this text as well, because it gives the design a classy feel and makes it look professional. I also changed the colour of the logo and the web address. I changed the colour of the logo so that it fits the colour scheme of the rest of the poster and I changed the web address white so that it stands out from the rest of the brown shades.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.18.47.png

The tagline looked a bit plain and so I copied the text onto a new layer and made the text a darker shade of brown and placed in behind the original text, so that it looks like the tagline is casting a shadow. To only does this make the text more interesting, but it also makes it seem like the tagline is a physical object because it is casting a shadow.

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 12.58.07.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-28 at 13.01.02.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-28 at 13.03.38.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-28 at 13.10.12.png

The original type face that I used did not look that exciting and so I tried out a number of different type faces, till I found one that look interesting and more noticeable because the previous one did not attract that much attention. I even explored different colours that I can use. In the last typeface, I changed the colour to white to see if it will make the text stand out more and I found that the white stands out from the brown shades and so I decided to keep the text white.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.12.12.png

This is the font that I decided to keep for the final design. I chose this font because it is more noticeable than all the other fonts. I also chose this font because I wanted to give the design a traditional feel because it is meant to appeal to people who like historical days out and so a traditional looking font would appeal to them and so I wanted a Serif Typeface, because Serif typefaces are used to look professional and traditional. Also one of the artists that I looked at Pablo Picasso, used Serif typefaces within his work, The Scallop Shell: ‘Notre Avenir est dans l’Air, which was made in 1912 and so this shows that this is a traditional type face because it has been used all the way back in 1912.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 12.12.23.png

Even though I used a font that stands out and I changed the colour to white, the text was still not that noticeable and so I decide to place a white boarder behind the word “Cambridge ” so that more attention is drawn to the word, it also makes the decide look more professional and it shows that the word “Cambridge” is important.

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 15.00.54.png

I found that the letters for the word Visit was kind of hard to see and the target audience are meant to be aged 35 and older and older people find it harder to see and so they may find it difficult to read the letters. To solve this I drew a brown outline around the letters so that they are easier to see and the viewer would not have to get really close just to read it.

Having looked at my poster again, I have found that the font and colour works a lot better now and it looks more professional.

Leave a Reply

