Magazine Spread

For the magazine spread I decide to create it in Photoshop, this is because I want my illustrations to look as real as possible and so I will need to do a lot of blending and Photoshop is the best software to blend colours together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.07.49.png

http://www.istockphoto.com/gb/photo/natural-wood-texture-gm185274565-19855553

For my magazine spread I wanted a texture for the background so that it would look more interesting than just plan white I also wanted the background to link with cooking and so I came up with the idea of using a chopping board for the background. At first I used pictures that I have taken of my own chopping boards however they did not fit the look that I wanted and so I used an image off line instead. The link to the website of where I got the image from is below the picture.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.08.10.png

After I had downloaded the image of the chopping board, I opened up Photoshop and created a new A3 document. The document however was portrait and I needed landscape because it is meant to be a double page spread of a magazine and so I went to the top and clicked on image, then image rotate, 90% and the page rotated to landscape. I then placed the image of the chopping board on the page and used the move tool to resize the image to fit on the page. After that was done I then created a new layer and used the pen tool to draw a plan of how I want the design to look and to give me an idea of how to lay things out as well as what scale they should be.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.08.16.png

https://www.itsnature.org/plant_life/vegetation-plants/chili-pepper/

The first thing that I drew was a chilly pepper, this is because in my plan I wanted different kinds of ingredients and food to be spread around the page to fill up the space. I got this image from a website, the link to the website is below the picture.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 14.57.26.png

The first thing that I did was create 3 new layers, one for the colour, one for the bright areas and one for the dark areas. I did this so that if I mess one layer up I would not have to start all over again. I also found out that it is best to only have 3 different shades of colours otherwise it will get to complicated and 3 different shades is all that I needed to blend the colours together to make the design look realistic. I first started by drawing the colours in to each layer, like drawing all of the red colour in the colour layer and all of the dark shades in the dark area layer and all of the light colours in the light area layer. I will continue to do this till there is no white spaces left and it is just different shades of red.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.00.41.png

Here I have finished colouring in all of the dark,and light ares, there are still some white ares but they do not matter because when I start blending they will disappear.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.01.41.png

After a while I thought that the light ares were way to light and so therefore would make it difficult to blend it in with the red and so I decided to change the colour to a darker shade.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.03.27.png

Here I have finished making the light area darker, all I have to do now is blend the colours together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.06.56.png

Here I have started to blend the colours together as can be seen from the top part of the chilly. To bleand the colours togthe I first change the hardness of the brush from 100% to 0%. I then change the brush’s opacity to 30%. I then use the eyedropper tool to copy the base colour or the normal colour, then switch back to the paint brush tool and paint over the dark and light areas, the colours should look like they have been mixed together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 12.38.37.png

In this screen shot I have fully blended the colours together, I think that this illustration is quite successful because it looks quite realistic which is the look that I was going for.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.08.27.png

After I had finished blending the colours I placed the chilly on top of the chopping board.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.08.33.png

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/558737/Guide-make-perfect-cup-of-tea

The next drawing that I am going to do will be a cup o tea. The link to where I got this photo is below the picture.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.11.41.png

I first started by creating 3 layers, like I did with the other drawing that I did. The base colour layer, the light shade layer and the dark layer. I then used the eyedropper and copied the colours of the tea.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.11.47.png

 

Here I have drawn an outline of where each shade should go, so that when I fill in the colour I will know which shade goes where.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.14.20.png

In this screen shot I have filled in all of the outlines with the colours, all that I have to do now is blend the colours together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.19.44.png

This screen shot shows the colours that have been blended together, to do this I used the same technique that I did to blend the colours for the chilly together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.22.24.png

Now that I have blended the colours for the tea together all that I need to do now is make the mug for the tea. This screen shot shows that I have used a base colour for the mug, this is so that I can get the shape of the mug.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.25.04.png

After I had done the base colour, I created a new layer called light and for this layer I will paint all of the light ares that are on the mug and so I used the eyedropper and selected the lightest colour on the mug I then used the paint brush to paint in all of the light areas.Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.26.25.png

After I had done the light areas the next thing that I need to do is do the darker areas and so I created a new layer and called it dark areas and used the eyedropper to select the lightest darker colour on the mug and used the paint brush to paint the dark areas on the mug.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.34.15.png

After I had placed on the colours I selected all of the layers and merged them together, I did this because it would be easier to blend the colours when they are on the same layer. I then turned the opacity now to 30% and the hardness down to 0% and copied the base colour then started to blend the colours together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.35.28.png

After I had finished blending the colours together, I placed the final image of the mug on the layer above the plan. The plan said that the tea should be placed in this spot and some I placed it there. I would say that I am very happy with the way that the tea has turned out because it looks very realistic, like it is a real cup of tea.

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.41.12.png

https://www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-image-single-tomato-view-top-image7346286

The next food that my plan said I should draw was a tomato, because I only have cherry tomatoes in my fridge I had to get an image of one off line. The link to the website that I got it from is located above. Here I have created 2 new layers, one layer for the light areds and one layer for the dark areas. For the light areas I used the paint tool and painted over the light areas of the tomato, I then did a slimier thing with the dark areas and painted over them with a dark colour.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.55.10.png

The next thing that I did use used the eye dropper tool to select a base colour from the tomato, I then created a new layer and draw an outline all around the tomato. This is so that I can use the paint bucket to fill in the outline meaning that I will not have to waste time colouring in the outline.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.59.54.png

This is what the tomato looks like after I had filled in the base colour and the shading, all that I need to do now is blend the colours together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 16.05.57.png

Here is what the tomato looks like after it has been blended together. I would say that compared to all of the other illustrations that I have done this is the least successful, this is because the tomato does not look that realistic like the other illustrations that I have done, this is probably because there is not enough dark shading on the tomato. I think that this could of had been made better if I had more shading around the bottom of the tomato.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.08.50.png

After I was done I placed the tomato on the layer above the chopping board texture.

images.jpg

https://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/top-down-view-red-tomato-soup-70549510

The next image that the plan said that I have to draw was a bowl of soup, but because I did not have a tin soup in my house, I took an image offline. The link to where I got the image is below the picture.

 

Inline image 3

I first started off my creating a new layer, I called this layer sauce because this layer was the layer where I drew the white sauce in the soup. After I had created a new layer I used the eye dropper to copy the colour of the sauce, I the went on the image layer and turned the opacity doesn’t to 80%, this is so that I can draw on top of the image and know where I have already placed the colour because if it was on full opacity I would not be able to tell. I the used the paint brush tool and painted over the white sauce.

Inline image 4

Here I have created a new layer called leaf, and I colouered the whole of the left green, I then bought up the colour palette and changed the colour to a darker green and coloured around the edge of the leaf. I then brought up the colour palette again and changed the green to a lighter colour of green and painted in the centre of the leaf, I then turned the opacity doesn’t of the paint brush and started to blend all of the colours in.

Inline image 5

I the created a new layer and placed in below all of the other layers, I did this to that I can use a bigger brush and I don,t have to be careful not to go over the other layers because it is placed below them and so it would to show up. I then needed a base colour and so I used the eye dropper and copied the colour of the soup and used the paint brush to paint over the soup.

Inline image 1

The next thing that I needed to do was create another layer, this time for the dark areas of the soup ans so I used the eye dropper to copy a darker colour to the base colour and started to paint over all of the dark araes in the soup.

Inline image 2

I the merge these two layers together so that it would be easier to blend the colours on one layer, also having just one layer would make it less complicated because I already have so many layers and it is hard to tell which layer is which and so having less layers would make things less difficult.

Inline image 8

This is what the soup looks like after I have blended all of the colours together. I would say that the final design does not look that bad however it could look better, may be if I add in some high lights to the soup.

Inline image 9

After I was done with the illustration I placed in on top of the chopping board where the plan told be to place it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.09.31.png

The next illustration that I had to draw was a plate and so I uploaded an image of a plate that I had taken onto Photoshop.

Inline image 1

After I had uploaded the photo I created a new layer, I then used the eye dropper to copy the colour of the plate, I then used the paint brush tool to paint on top of the plate.

Inline image 2

After I had finished painting the base layer I then created 2 more different layers, one for high lights and one for the shading. I the used the paint brush tool to paint on the high lights and shading on the plate. I would say that I am not very happy with the way that the plate has turned out because it does not look that realistic, I think that this is because I have not blended in the high lights very well with the base colour.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.09.37.png

After I had finished with the plate I placed it on top of the chopping board layer.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 12.41.24.png

https://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/sweet-basil-herb-tied-bunch-twine-2535737

The next drawing that I planned on drawing was a herb, this is because herbs are mainly used in cooking. Because I only have dried herbs in my house and I want to show fresh ones I downloaded an image off line the link to the website that I got the image is below the picture.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.10.15.png

I first started by creating a new layer, then using the eye dropper I copied the colour of the basil and painted on top of it to use it as a base colour.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.10.20.png

I the created another layer called high lights and used the eye dropper to copy the high lights of the plant and used that colour to paint in the high lights.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.10.27.png

The next thing that I had to do was the shading and so just like what I did for the high lights, I created a new layer called shading and used the eye dropper to copy the colour of the shading of the plant, I then used the paint brush to paint in the shaded parts of the plant.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.10.35.png

After I had done both the high lights and the shading I then moved onto the blending and so I turned the opacity down to 30% and changed the brush colour to the base colour and started to blend the colours together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.10.44.png

The next thing that I had to do was the stem of the plant, I first started off by using a base colour and painted on top of the stems.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.10.49.png

The next thing that I did was create a new layer call stem light and I painted in the high light areas of the stem.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.11.02.png

After I had done the highlights I then moved on to do the dark areas of the stem and so I created a new layer and used the paint brush to paint in the dark parts of the plant.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.11.12.png

After I had done the stem I then moved on to draw the string that ties the basil together. Like all my other illustration I started off with a base colour I then created a new layer and drew on top of the string.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.11.31.png

After I had done the base colour I then used the paint brush tool to paint in the highlights and the shading of the string.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.11.37.png

After I had painted in the high lights, the next thing that I need to do was blend the colours together.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.11.43.png

When I looked at the centre of the plant it didn’t look right for some reason and so I decided that it might be the colour and so I changed the colour to a darker green however that still did not look right.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.11.49.png

I then came up with the idea of using the same colours that I used for the leaves, so that the centre looks like there is a leaf there and I have found that it looks a lot better than it did before. Overall this was the most difficult part to do because there were so many leaves and I had to paint all of them in, this illustration also took me the longest to do however I would also say that this piece is the most successful compare to all of the other illustrations that I have done.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.11.57.png

After I had finished the illustration of the plant I placed in on the layer above the chopping board layer.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.12.25.png

The next thing that a planned on drawing was a bar of chocolate and so I uploaded a photo that I could of a bar of chocolate on to Photoshop.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.12.29.png

The first thing that I did like always was create a new layer and used the eye dropper to copy the base colour from the image and then use the paint brush tool to paint over the image of the chocolate bar.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.12.39.png

After I had done the base colour I then moved on to doing the highlights and shading and so I created two new layers, like always, one for the highlights and one for the shading and I used the paint tool to paint over the highlights and the shading.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.12.45.png

After I had finished painting I then moved onto blending the colours together. I would say that I am pretty pleased with the way the chocolate bars looks because you can tell that it is a chocolate bar, which is what I wanted.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.13.12.png

The next and last food that I was going to draw was a fried twinkly. I decided to draw this because the them is meant to be crazy recipes and fried twinkly is an unusual recipe. Because I have not got any twinkles at home that I can take a photo of  I got an image of one off line the link to the website that I got it from is placed below the image.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.13.22.png

The first thing that I did was create a layer and painted over the image of the twinkly with a base colour.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.13.40.png

I the painted in the highlights and the shading on the twinkly.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.13.53.png

Afterwards I turned the opacity down on the paint brush and started to blend the colours together.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.14.01.png

After I had finished the twinkly I the moved on to make the sauce on the twinkly and so I created a new layer called base sauce, and used the eye dropper to copy the colour of the sauce and paint over the top of the sauce.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.14.18.png

I then added in the highlights and shading and blended all of the colours together. The design turned out a lot better than I thought that it would and I really like how realistic the twinkly and the sauce look.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.14.21.png

After I had finished the illustration of the twinkly I then placed it on the layer above the chopping board layer.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 13.14.29.png

Now that I have finished the illustration all that I had left to do was the writing part.I placed the title of the spread at the left. I then went on a website that creates random text and copied and paste the text on the spread, I did this so that it lots like there is writing, like you would have on a real spread. I would say that I am happy with the way that the spread looks however it could be better in some places, overall I would say that it looks pretty good.

 

Leave a Reply

